South American Adventures

Taking flying leaps into the unknown

Rushed return home

Leave a comment

Since about 3 weeks I’ve been back in Europe…London->Budapest->Vienna->Vilnius->Vienna->Budapest. I returned to meet my family most of whom have not seen me in about a year. I also used the opportunity to acquire investor clients for  Fundacity with which we have now launched a cloud-based, Kanban-based solution for managing and tracking dealflow, aimed to be used by (institutional and private) investors, incubators and accelerators.

To say the least this journey was extremely demanding and rushed. Having between 4-7 hours time difference with my team in Chile and gf in Brazil is not easy especially when waking up early on most days for local client meetings. Friends wanted to have drinks with me on most nights often causing clashes with meetings I had arranged in LatAm timezones did not make things easier. I tried to fit in everything as who knows when I will be back…

Scheduling my calendar was and is a complete headache but google calendar is helping a lot! I will blog about the experiences in more detail as many exciting things happened.

Today we had a family reunion organized for me to see everyone. I kept having to jump into meetings with clients, my team and the JWEF which I am helping organize. It was pretty stressful as I kept feeling I am not giving enough time to anyone.

Anyway more details to come but its time for bed as its 3am and I have a client pitch tomorrow morning.

Author: Miklos Grof

Miklos is the CEO and co-founder of Fundacity. Fundacity is making startups investing easier. Fundacity already supports all the notable accelerators in LatAm in their startup selection and management and they are expanding rapidly across Asia-Pacific and Europe. With the recently launched Fundacity Investments Clubs it seeks to simplify the startup investing process in emerging markets and make it accessible to more people. Miklos has unique and extensive experience in start-up formation, business development and venture financing. He has raised and evaluated investment offers in venture capital from angels and VCs from three continents for a variety of deals. He thrives at launching businesses and making sales in new geographies. Miklos currently serves as a financial advisor and mentor for various start-ups including Taggify (an online contextual advertising company based in New York and Buenos Aires). At Taggify, Miklos advises on fundraising, financial reporting to the board of investors, tax filling and cash flow management. Miklos completed his MsC in Finance at the London School of Economics and previously worked in corporate finance at PricewaterhouseCoopers in London, fund sales at UniCredit Vienna and economic research at Erste Bank Budapest. He is a Chartered Accountant with the ICAEW, Institute of Chartered Accountant England and Whales and is quinti-lingual. He is passionate about startups and entrepreneurship and spends his free time engaging with the startup community.

Leave a Reply

