South American Adventures

Taking flying leaps into the unknown

Singapore – Gateway to a new market

Leave a comment

I got back from Singapore few days ago. To say the least, the trip came with lots of highs and lows but in all was very productive. Greatest down was definitely the getting there bit. 3 planes and 40 hours travel from Porto Alegre – Sao Paolo – Doha – Singapore. The second was that I was almost forbidden to fly out in Sao Paolo. I did not pass the security check.

Fatal question = “Sir, where do you live?”

It is indeed hard to answer that given I spend at most 4 weeks in any given destination since November last year. Luckily, I just received my Chilean visa, but did not pay the fee and thus did not have the stamp yet. Once I managed to explain that the next impasse was that I had a return flight to Brazil where I had no official business. Qatar would not let me fly as there was a risk Brazil would not let me return and I would be “stuck” in futuristic Avatar land Singapore. I needed an onward flight to ‘home’ where ever that may be.

1:30Am Sao Paolo Guarulhos airport. I needed to buy and print a ticket to Chile and print my visa acceptance forms which luckily Diego sent me a scan copy off some weeks back. To say the least it was a challenge and an expensive one to resolve but after 1-2 hours ordeal all done and happy days.

Well, not quite, it seems bad luck takes a while to wash off…security check wanted to search my bag and take me to the security room to bomb search me a little more. Pretty annoyed but luckily not too much time later I was enjoying Big Bang Theory on Qatar flight to Doha. Singapore was definitely worth the hassle.

Author: Miklos Grof

Miklos is the CEO and co-founder of Fundacity. Fundacity is making startups investing easier. Fundacity already supports all the notable accelerators in LatAm in their startup selection and management and they are expanding rapidly across Asia-Pacific and Europe. With the recently launched Fundacity Investments Clubs it seeks to simplify the startup investing process in emerging markets and make it accessible to more people. Miklos has unique and extensive experience in start-up formation, business development and venture financing. He has raised and evaluated investment offers in venture capital from angels and VCs from three continents for a variety of deals. He thrives at launching businesses and making sales in new geographies. Miklos currently serves as a financial advisor and mentor for various start-ups including Taggify (an online contextual advertising company based in New York and Buenos Aires). At Taggify, Miklos advises on fundraising, financial reporting to the board of investors, tax filling and cash flow management. Miklos completed his MsC in Finance at the London School of Economics and previously worked in corporate finance at PricewaterhouseCoopers in London, fund sales at UniCredit Vienna and economic research at Erste Bank Budapest. He is a Chartered Accountant with the ICAEW, Institute of Chartered Accountant England and Whales and is quinti-lingual. He is passionate about startups and entrepreneurship and spends his free time engaging with the startup community.

Leave a Reply

